Mirror of Discovery Banner.jpg

STOWiki:Policy/Deletion

From Star Trek Online Wiki
Jump to: navigation, search

Icon-policy.png STOWiki Policies

Policy status and phases

Admin selection policy
Category policy
Copyright policy
Deletion policy
DNP Policy
Editing policy
External links
Naming policy
Personal articles
Player character pages

Neutrality policy
Stub policy
Three revert rule
Vandalism policy
Voting policy
Writing policy
Fan fiction
Fleet pages
Items
Lore

See also:
Guideline

This page is an official policy on STOWiki.

This policy has wide acceptance among editors and is considered a standard that all users should follow.

  • Feel free to propose any changes to this policy, but please make sure that changes you make follow the official process and reflect consensus on the discussion page before you put them into practice. Any big changes need to be Adopted or Decreed to be enforced as policy.
  • See Project:Policies for an overview of STOWiki policies.
  • See Category:Policies for a list of proposed and adopted policy articles.
  • Shortcut: STO:DEL


A page can be marked for and deleted immediately without any delay or discussion if:

  • The page is a redirect left over from a move or merge, all links have been changed to the new page, and the redirect is unlikely to be useful.
  • The page is improperly named and a properly named article with the same content already exists.
  • The page is a user page and the owning user has requested its deletion.
  • The page is obvious spam, vandalism, completely and unequivocally off-topic, or has always been blank.
  • The page is for a duty officer that is no longer, or never was, available on the live server.
  • The page is in clear violation of any other policy of the wiki.

A page should not be marked for deletion if:

  • The page's content is unique or useful
  • Anything needs to be done to the page before it's ready for deletion.

If a page does not meet any of the criteria for either category above, it may be marked for deletion, but may only be deleted by the administrators as described below.

It is important to note that this is not Wikipedia. We do not delete because an article is far below standards as long as continuing effort is being put into that article. If there are obvious problems with an article, make a note of it, or do the work yourself, but don't use the delete tag to advertise the issue.

To use the deletion template, add the following to the top of the article that you wish to be reviewed for deletion:

If you believe the page meets the criteria for immediate deletion, you may optionally add the following instead:

Do not use the delete template as a way to communicate desired changes for an article; that's what the article's talk page is for. For instance, please don't use {{delete|merge with [[somepage]]}}, as that clutters up the deletion categories with pages that aren't actually ready to be deleted. Use the {{merge}} template instead.

If administrators do not believe an article meets the criteria for immediate deletion, they will delete it at least a few days after the tag is added to the page, assuming no dissent in the talk page. Contested deletes must reach a consensus for deletion before an administrator will delete the article; he or she will delete a few days after the last meaningful comment posted after the consensus is reached.

As a matter of tact and to avoid conflict of interest, administrators should avoid deleting articles they themselves mark as candidates for deletion. Administrators should always leave a talk page with a deletion discussion intact for future reference and possible reopening of the deletion discussion due to new developments or information.

Administrators may, as a last resort, delete an article where the deletion is contested if there is overwhelming reason to believe a consensus will not be achieved and those arguing for retaining the page are acting in obvious bad faith. This decision is final except in the case of new information or developments which constitute cause for reconsideration.